National City Bank has officially lost my business

I normally talk about my kids in here, but this will be an exception.

My debit/atm card from National City Bank expired 11/08. On November 1, I still had not recieved my new card from the bank. It was a Saturday, so on Monday when my card had still not been recieved, my husband went to the bank to inquire the whereabouts of the new card.

November 3: The branch employee searches the system and tells my husband that the card had been mailed around October 20. They will order a new card. It will take 7-10 business days.

Friday, November 7: I go to McDonalds and have to use my Discover card. This is not cool. Perhaps McDonalds isn’t a necessity, but I like to treat the pumpkins every now and again.

Saturday, November 8: Grocery day. Nice, no card. I shop at Aldi and guess what they take…cash, debit, or a check (I think they take those?). I can’t do cash because I refuse to walk around with a couple hundred dollars in my pocket with 4 small children. This really isn’t a safe option. I don’t carry a checkbook. I take John’s broken card, praying it won’t break further, and go to the store after he gets home from work.

Sunday, November 9: The tank needs gas. I cannot leave my 4 kids in the car while I go prepay with cash. John fills the Suburban (another reason for no cash…that’s a small fortune to fill)

Tuesday, November 11: I need to pay for something online. My Paypal account is tied to my debit card (expired) and our savings account. I have to use the Discover card – another unneccessary charge.

Friday, November 14: I have now been without access to our account for 14 days. John goes to bank, asks what the hold up is. They tell him that the card was mailed, I should have recieved it. I have not. He asks them to again, please reorder, this is ridiculous. The tellor says something doesn’t look right. Does his wife still live in Florissant? WHAT? When we moved 2 farking years ago, we changed our banking information…but somewhere in the depths of this complex National City Banking system our old address was still linked to me, and this is where not one, but 2 new debit cards were sent. Not happy, my husband requests yet again for another card to be mailed, this time to the bank. They said 7-10 business days, he says no, please put a rush on it, don’t you understand my wife needs this? Fine. They tell him it will be there in 2-3 business days.

Wednesday, November 19: John goes to bank. No card. A tellor suggest that maybe, “your wife ought to use the time tested thing called cash.” WRONG FARKING ANSWER. Maybe National City Bank ought to get their act together to fix their lack of customer service and to offer some sensitivity training to their employees.

Friday, November 21: John goes to bank. NO CARD. Are we surprised? No apologies either. They offer to call if it arrives via courier. We don’t hold our breath.

Sunday, November 23: Groceries, Walmart, gas….no, I definately don’t need access to my money.

Today is Monday, November 24. I have been without my debit card from this piss-poor establishment for 3 solid weeks now. We have opened a Bank of America account.

6 thoughts on “National City Bank has officially lost my business

  1. That is flippin’ ridiculous! I would have went off on that employee about the cash comment!

    BTW, this happened to us too. It wasn’t as long of a time since we had moved but apparently, we only changed one of the addresses on the account and the other one was at our old address. We didn’t get that you had to change each person when we BOTH were on the freaking account. Shouldn’t they have said something. ugh Incompetence drives me batty.

  2. That is flippin’ ridiculous! I would have went off on that employee about the cash comment!

    BTW, this happened to us too. It wasn’t as long of a time since we had moved but apparently, we only changed one of the addresses on the account and the other one was at our old address. We didn’t get that you had to change each person when we BOTH were on the freaking account. Shouldn’t they have said something? ugh Incompetence drives me batty.

  3. i hate national city with a passion unlike anyone has ever seen. i have been a “customer” before it was “national city”. it used to be harbor federal. i had no issues with them or their customer service. now, if you ever have a problem or comment or question or concern or ANYTHING, they forward your call to voicemail of their “supervisor”. more often than not, this person has a message that is incoherent at best, not because of outsourcing our labor, but because the person is a derelict.

    BAH!!!

    never again national city….NEVER AGAIN!!!!

  4. i hate national city with a passion unlike anyone has ever seen. i have been a “customer” before it was “national city”. it used to be harbor federal. i had no issues with them or their customer service. now, if you ever have a problem or comment or question or concern or ANYTHING, they forward your call to voicemail of their “supervisor”. more often than not, this person has a message that is incoherent at best, not because of outsourcing our labor, but because the person is a derelict.

    BAH!!!!

    never again national city….NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Leave a Reply

