Using just one hand

Having been a mom for almost 10 years now, I have learned to complete many tasks with only one hand. With my right hand (cause baby is usually on the left hip held by my left arm and hand, accounting for my extra large bicep) I can type, tie a shoe, load the dishes, do laundry and put away groceries. My delegation skills are equally amazing, I can direct a houseful of children to complete a large variety of tasks, from my couch while nursing a baby. Let’s now talk about what I can not do, no matter how hard I try, using only one hand.

Knit.

I cannot knit one handed. I also cannot knit with a baby in my lap. This, is why a scarf that promises to take most knitters only 3 hours takes me only 3 days. So, if you are so fortunate this holiday season to receive a scarf from me, know that it took much love and much more than the 3 hours another knitter might have put into it.

Leave a Reply

