A new year

Hello 2009!

This year I vow to do the following in no particular order:

  • drink more slimfast
  • drink less soda
  • finish knitting a sweater just for me
  • make matching sweaters for the girls
  • not yell so much
  • be a better mom
  • be a better wife
  • clean the house more often
  • spend less time online and more time in a garden
  • dress with a little more flair

While shopping yesterday I determined that my wardrobe is a)hopelessly out of style, b)stained, c)ill-fitting and d)not very exciting. I’m too old to be into the latest style, but I’m guessing that the worn out t-shirts with 5 year old stains, water spots and holes are probably better suited for painting or the trashcan than they are for visiting my husband at work. Using a gift card I bought myself a new pair of jeans and 2 sweaters. Surprisingly, the jeans are a size down from what I thought I needed, and that is always a good thing. The sweaters are cute and new, and I can’t wait to go visit John at the office. I always feel like I walk away and the girls I used to work with must look at each other and say, “Oh, she sure has let herself go.” I haven’t. I’ve just been more occupied with the littles than fashion. I don’t intend to be a fashion plate, but I think this year I will institute a rule that if it is severly stained it will go to the trash, if it is too small it will be donated and if it is more than 5 years old it will find it’s way to a donation pile as well. I may be a busy mom, but I’m going to make an effort to look somewhat put together.

Speaking of looking, Maggie now can pull up to the window and look out of it. I have a feeling that this year will be full of changes with her and the other children as they grow up just a little more, a little too quickly for my tastes.

4 thoughts on “A new year

  1. You are beautiful just as you are, but having new clothes is so much fun. I’m glad you had a good time on your shopping spree ~ that was the idea!

Leave a Reply

