French Bread you can’t mess up and Imaginative play

This is very easy, so perfect for children who like to help in the kitchen!

  • 1 1/2 cups warm water
  • 1 1/2 TBSP dry active yeast
  • 1 TBSP honey
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3-4 cups flour

Preheat oven to 450. Spray a cookie sheet with no-stick spray. Mix water, yeast, salt & honey together. Let sit for 10 minutes. Stir in 3 cups of flour. Drop dough onto floured surface and knead for about a minute. Split in half and form two long loaves about the length of your cookie sheet. Put the loaves on the cookie sheet not touching – leave 4-5 inches between the loaves. Let dough rise on cookie sheet in a warm place for 20 minutes. Place into oven, you can put a small pan of water in the rack beneath the bread for a more crispy crust. Bake 15- 20 minutes, until bread is a nice golden brown. I baked for 17 minutes.

Liam and I made this last night and he was so proud of himself, and delighted with the results. He is a fan of jelly bread, and he got to have some that he made! He is still talking today about how last night we made FRENCH bread AND FRIENDSHIP bread. He just loves helping me in the kitchen. Sometimes I catch him in the bathtub making Friendship bread from bubbles and water to serve up to Pablo and Uniquewa on their pirate ship.

I love the imaginative play of little kids because they draw from their reality and turn it into play. It is also very flattering when they do things like pretend to bake like mom, or work on stuff like dad. On the flip-side, though, watching their play can give you incite into some things that aren’t so flattering, but we’ll pretend that I’ve never heard Dorothy yell at her dolls to, “just finish eating right now or they will never get to eat again.” See, there’s where she might have expanded on the actual event, because what I probably said in a raised voice, not a yell, was that if that she didn’t eat her dinner she’d not get a treat later on, but in her mind I might have just as well said never eat again. This is why when I discuss things with the kids I ask them several times if they, “understand” what I’m trying to say. Dorothy also uses this, “DO YOU UNDERSTAND,” technique with Liam and her dolls. I don’t think when I ask about understanding that I’m as mean as she is.

4 thoughts on “French Bread you can’t mess up and Imaginative play

  1. It would appear that my directions were not quite clear enough….don’t sift. Just scoop that flour right into a cup, or even pour it right out of the bag 🙂

Leave a Reply

