Patience of a Saint?

Nah, I don’t think so. It would seem that I’m just more tollerant of the cries, shreeks,squeals and screams, running, jumping, and normal goings on of babies and toddlers than your Average Joe (not to be confused with Joe the Plumber). At any given time when you call my house you will most certainly get an earful of these noises. I’ve said before, if you want my undivided attention by day, it probably isn’t going to happen. I think the only person who ever gets quiet, undivided attention is my husband at 11:00 pm when we go to bed…and even then the cats are usually climbing on our heads and doing that annoying pat down and knead the blanket thing that cats do.

In addition to the kid and cat noises, my background is also cluttered with the delightful sounds of honks, beeps, classical music on the Fisher Price piano, fire engine sounds, drills, Elmo doing the chicken dance, and Lightening McQueen on the television. Did I mention that all those sounds at the same time is really loud, and difficult to talk over? This information is important because it easily explains why it sounds like I am yelling into the phone, I’m not, I just need to be above the noise. It also explains why my 7 month old is unable to nap in the mornings. Thankfully, I have a really great pad underneath my hideous blue carpet, which somewhat muffles the noises made by little feet running, jumping and dropping toys. In the evenings though, it sounds like elephants overhead because the kids all have hardwood flooring – great for clean up, crappy for noise control.

I keep seeing this ad for Loud and Clear, and I think, “Now there is a product I DEFINATELY DO NOT need.”

5 thoughts on “Patience of a Saint?

Leave a Reply

