It won’t be like this for long

So, Hootie dropped the band and picked up a record deal doing country music. He’s got this song out called It Won’t Be Like This For Long and the lyrics talk about some of the phases children go through that I often hear parents complain about. Baby crying, clingy preschoolers and teens that hate their parents, and the song is right, it won’t be like this for long. Everything with children is a phase and if you just hang on tight, it will soon be a new phase.

I have been trying to be mindful of this recently. I’ve taken a bit of flack in the real world about my children sleeping in my bed, but the truth is that when they have come to about 4 years old, they tend to stay in their own beds all night. Liam is sleeping longer and longer in his own bed, only joining us a few times a week now. I look over at him all snuggled up next to his daddy and I hear the words to the song, “This phase is gonna fly by, if you can just hold on, it won’t be like this for long.” He looks so stinkin’ sweet laying their in our bed and I”m going to miss this phase when it ends. Next thing I know, Maggie will be moving into her own bed too.

Leave a Reply

