Snow Days

Snow days are exciting, kind of like Christmas without the presents. They are eagerly anticipated by the young kids, and present a challenge to adults who are suddenly called to task to locate snow clothes, boots, coats, extra mittens, sleds and hot cocoa.  As a parent I look out the window and know that I’ll need to locate all of the aforementioned items and also prepare for a day of getting absolutely nothing done in the house because my school aged children will be home. Snow and ice mean I will spend my day not only tending my little charges, but tending to the needs of my older children, their friends and the older siblings of my normal daycare children.

Oh yeah, snow means WORK, though I do enjoy watching the kids play outdoors in the snow, I don’t really enjoy cleaning up the floors soaked with salt, ice, mud and snow. I get a good kick out of bundled up kids (that took a good 20 minutes to dress) waddling out into the cold with plans to make snow angels, an ice castle, a snowman family and have a snowball fight, only to see them slink back into the house with little red cheeks 20 minutes later, asking for hot cocoa. I know they won’t be out too long, so start preparing the cocoa as soon as the door closes.

Today was our first snow day and it was just wonderful…noise level aside. It looks like another snow day will be called again tomorrow, which means I need to get off this computer and get all the snow clothes washed and dried, salt mopped off the floor and a hot dinner on the table. In case you wonder what I serve on a busy day, here it is:

Ravioli Lasagna borrowed from Jenny’s kitchen:

  • 1 pkg frozen cheese filled ravioli
  • 1 lb ground beef browned and drained
  • 2 jars or a whole bunch of homemade spaghetti sauce
  • 16 oz shredded mozzerella
  • 1/2 container parmesan cheese

Layer frozen ravioli, sauce, meat and cheeses into a large crockpot. Cook on high for about 4 hours.

Served with hot, fresh french bread.

2 thoughts on “Snow Days

Leave a Reply

