Banished to the Basement

My poor little kitty, Cocoa, likes to be around people. This is why he likes to hang out in my daycare. He enjoys sitting on the back of the couch and getting sun. He does not like being cornered, having his ears pulled, hair pulled off of his back, nor does he care for small children getting in his face. He has his claws because I will not declaw him. His natural defense is to put out his claws and smack/bat at whatever threatens him. My children all know to not harrass him, he will let us know when he wants to be petted, because actually he is quite a loving little lap cat. At any rate, he scratched a child yesterday and the parents aren’t happy. I won’t rehome my 6 year old cat and honestly I don’t want to. He is just going to have to learn that the basement is where he belongs during the daytime. I hope he learns quickly because I hate hearing him cry at the door.

2 thoughts on “Banished to the Basement

  1. Hugs. I can’t imagine how hard that is. I wish parents could accept that their child will have to learn about animals and their space/mood and this situation is the way to do it. A controlled environment, with a tame animal is the best….not sheltering them from animals and hoping they don’t run into them outside.

    I would look at you and say, well did he/she learn not to bother the kitty? No, well perhaps tomorrow, it is a lesson that has to be learned.

    I hope kitty adjusts quickly.

Leave a Reply

