Woot! It’s spring!

Well, not really, and I doubt this lasts, but today we have an expected high of 71 degrees! I turned off the heat yesterday and even opened some windows. This is just what we needed to get that stagnant, nasty, sicky, germy air out of the house…and I’ll be honest here…It will also get the kids OUTSIDE! We sent them all out on Saturday and they had a wonderful time slopping through the mud left behind from all the recent snow melt. I didn’t mind the mud, the increased need for Oxi-Clean, or the one pair of shoes that cannot be rescued from the brown staining, they needed replaced anyway. Today, I’ll draw the line at mud play, but bikes, scooters and balls will be encouraged. This, my friends, is one of the benefits of living in St. Louis…our weather changes frequently and we experience every season. Looking at the forecast, we’ll be back down to the 30’s by Thursday.

Since I mentioned it, let me sing the praises of Oxi-Clean, and it’s good, much cheaper¬†friend the Aldi brand. I almost always have a bucket of something soaking out the stains. I tell you, I’ve yet to find a non-grease stain that wouldn’t come out with the magic of oxygenated water. My secret to stain free kids clothes is this: Fill a one gallon bucket with the hottest water your fabric can handle, add 1-2 scoops of oxygen cleaner (2 for really bad stains) and then add your garment, aggitate a bit, then just walk away. Walk away for a day or three or four, then dump the whole bucket into your washer.

One thought on “Woot! It’s spring!

  1. Your suggestions for stains is great. I learned how to remove dry blood stains from clothes is simple as soaking in COLD water not hot. From what I have read blood is protien based and when you put heat on a protie you literally “cook” in the stain.

    So for things like blood, school glue, and puddings. Cold water is the way to go.

Leave a Reply

