Dustin is doing a triathlon

Not only is Dustin playing football this fall, but he joined cross-country at school. He really likes running and is fairly athletic, so I entered him in a triathalon on Sunday morning. He is super excited and I imagine will do well, though he’s not been able to train for the swim portion due to all the outdoor pools being closed, and no time to go to an indoor one. This week he ran a mile in 7:49!

While I do enjoy football, and team success is wonderful, there is something very satisfying about personal achievement, personal bests, and pushing yourself. I always enjoyed running when I was younger. Even though I was never any better than average, the adrenaline rush at the end of a race/competitions was never equaled when my softball/basketball team won and I sat on a bench. I’ve been able to find my happy place again with walking, and I like to think my example is what has helped push Dustin to seek his own individual sport.

We have to leave the house at 6:15 in the morning to get to the event on time. His bike needs to be in the staging area between 7:00 – 7:30, we may have a little wiggle room on the departure time. I think it is going to be a great experience for Dustin, and his little brother, two sisters, mom and stepdad will be there cheering him on every step of the way. Should he place, we’ll be proud, should he not place, we will be just as proud and just as encouraging! Go Dustin!!!

2 thoughts on “Dustin is doing a triathlon

  1. Go Dustin! Gramma is fixing a HUGE breakfast for after your triathalon 🙂 There will be biscuits and sausage gravy, cheesy scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, breakfast potatoes and a cherry coffeecake. And if your little heart desires, I’ll even spring for a ham and cheese omelet for your very own!

    Grampa and I are so very proud of you!!

Leave a Reply

