Thanksgiving is coming up and other ramblings

and I’m thinking about the menu. I want it to be kid-friendly, delicious and to have minimal work on my part. I had considered Beef Wellington and Yorkshire Pudding, but I have decided to stick with the tried and true.

2 Turkey Breasts – In the crockpot
Dressing (not stovetop, but I’ll make the bread for it and everything)
Mashed Potatoes – John will make these actually, he makes them with sour cream – YUM
Gravy – packets LOL
Buttered Corn
Green Bean Casserole
Yeast Rolls
Salad

Pumpkin Pie and Apple Pie

================

This is the menu for Thanksgiving Day when I host it. My brother and his partner won’t be in this year, and my sister is waiting on her grandmother to die, so really this will just be us, the 5 kids, my parents and perhaps I’ll invite my MIL….admittedly, I’m still on the fence about this invitation.

John’s girlfriend, Megan, won’t be able to make it this year because she lives 3 hours away and has to work the day after at 4:00am. I understand. I imagine a ring may be in the near future, so I would have like her to be able to join us.

Officially, no tickets have been purchased for Dustin and Dorothy to travel to Hawaii for the Christmas holidays. Dustin is aware of this and said he’d just assume stay here. I haven’t said anything officially to Dorothy yet.

I’ll be doing some serious shopping for Christmas at 4 in the morning on the day after Thanksgiving. I’m crazy like that.

One thought on “Thanksgiving is coming up and other ramblings

  1. my menu is similar only I don’t make the dressing from scratch and I make a whole turkey. My mashed potatoes have sour cream and cheddar in them.

    I am doing a second meal on the sat after too.. I am considering a small smoked turkey for that..

Leave a Reply

