It’s time for the Jingle Bell Run

I’m not really ready. I’ll start with that. I can run for about 40 minutes without walking but on the treadmill that doesn’t yield 3.1 miles. I’m hoping, though, that running on the treadmill is like walking on the treadmill. When I did my last 5k I did it in 48 minutes and walked the whole thing, but I never actually walked a 16 minute mile on my treadmill, the closest was about 17:30, and I did less than 16 minute miles in the half-marathon, so I’m thinking that I just don’t stride out properly on the tread.

Anyway, I don’t think I could do this all without the continued support of my husband, John. My work situation right now doesn’t allow me to work out during naps right now, I’m sure that in a couple of months that will change, but right now I have some climbers. This means, obviously, that somewhere I have to find the time to work out, but finding time in my day that already starts at 5:00 a.m. and ends at 10:30 p.m. is somewhat difficult. The path of least resistatance, which is what I’m normally known for would be to stop for a while, but I”m pressing on and John has taken over bed-time with Maggie (we still lay down with her). I think he likes the evening nap and bonding time with the baby, and I like the alone time with my Sony Walkman MP3 player.

The Walkman really is a great MP3 player. It is cute and compact, and it holds more than enough music/videos/playlists to suit my needs. And, it’s pink. It also gets radio stations. John got it for me this year for my birthday, and I think it may be my most used gift to date. I really do love it!

Leave a Reply

