Pigs in a Blanket

Tonight is Family Night at the house. Not a Wednesday goes by where the kids don’t ask what we are doing for family night…and unfortunately, last week had to be canceled due to John’s work schedule. The kids have not forgotten of course…really, we never do much spectacular, the trip to the pizza joint a few weeks ago was out of the ordinary. Dorothy asked this morning if we could have tacos for Family Night, and since it seems to be the most popular Wednesday night meal, I may have to run to the store for some hamburger and sour cream. I think tacos can pretty much please anybody as long as they have a nice selection of fillers. The only down side to taco night is the clean up, because at least two tacos will completely fall apart when the owner of them takes the first bite and the fillings squeeze out the backside.

One of my favorite stories to hear about myself from when I was little involves something similar, only the food was Pigs in a Blanket. I didn’t usually eat lunch at school, my mom usually packed it for me, but for some odd reason I must have asked to eat Pigs in a Blanket. I suppose that in 1st grade that food choice must sound very exciting, as an adult the idea of hotdogs in crescent rolls is not so appealing, so my mom let me buy my lunch at school. My parents were told this story by a nice lady who worked at the school, my mom was a teacher and my stepdad a principal, both at other schools. Bite one, I get a little bite, squeeze and the hotdog flies out the bottom and hits the floor. I think I must have cried and told Mrs. Berger because I got to get a new Blanketed Pig. Bite two, repeat results of Bite one and the new Pig. Bite 3 must have been successful and likely bite 4 as well because when the pig squirted out the blanket one last time I didn’t get to have a new one, she figured I had managed a whole pig by that time.

On second though, I make bread almost daily…i bet we could have a good time actually making Pigs in a Blanket. How much fun would that be for Family Night?!